13 Ekim 2012 Cumartesi

China advises leftover women

To contact us Click HERE
A NY Times op-ed complains about
In 2007, the Women’s Federation defined “leftover” women (sheng nu ) as unmarried women over the age of 27 and China’s Ministry of Education added the term to its official lexicon. Since then, the Women’s Federation Web site has run articles stigmatizing educated women who are still single.

Take this uplifting column from March 2011 that ran just after International Women’s Day:
Pretty girls don’t need a lot of education to marry into a rich and powerful family, but girls with an average or ugly appearance will find it difficult. These kinds of girls hope to further their education in order to increase their competitiveness. The tragedy is, they don’t realize that as women age, they are worth less and less, so by the time they get their M.A. or Ph.D., they are already old, like yellowed pearls.
After knocking some good sense into those misguided women who pursue a higher education, the column accuses educated, single women of sleeping around and having degenerate morals:
Many highly educated “leftover women” are very progressive in their thinking and enjoy going to nightclubs to search for a one-night stand, or they become the mistress of a high official or rich man. It is only when they have lost their youth and are kicked out by the man, that they decide to look for a life partner. Therefore, most “leftover women” do not deserve our sympathy.
This is funny. Yes, the Chinese girls will seek out alpha men and become sluts, if given the opportunity. It is human nature. Feminists pretend that they are immune to it, but they are not.

If the Chinese commies understood the threat, they would shut down the women's studies and other feminist influenced departments at their colleges, before it is too late. And they would never give women the vote.

The Chinese are just giving sensible advice. The Islamic countries take more drastic measures. Laura Bush writes:
On Tuesday afternoon, Malala Yousafzai was a 14-year-old girl riding home on a school bus. Now, after a masked gunman apparently boarded her bus, asked for her by name and shot her in the head and neck, she is fighting for her life. Malala was targeted by the Pakistani Taliban because for the past three years she has spoken out for the rights of all girls to become educated. After this despicable shooting, a Taliban spokesman said that his organization considers Malala’s crusade for education rights an “obscenity” and accused her of “propagating” Western culture. If she survives, the group promises to try again to kill her.
CNN reports:
There were at least 185 documented attacks on schools and hospitals in Afghanistan last year, according to the United Nations, and the majority of those attacks were attributed to armed groups opposed to educating females.
No, I do not agree with Islamic law, or with the Obama administration installing an Islamic govt in Afghanistan.

Announcing the Hulu Award for "Best Informational Show"

To contact us Click HERE


And the Hulie goes to....



Nova!







PBS owes much of its sterling reputation to its most watched documentary, Nova. This is a show that has produced thirty five years of cutting edge science programming, all without resorting to condescension to the lowest common denominator. Their sterling brand name has attracted some terrific and well-known hosts, including David Attenborough, Oliver Platt, John Lithgow, and Stockard Channing.

Nova's presence on Hulu is solid, but it does have some huge gaps that leave us wanting more. Right now, 23 episodes are posted in their entirety, all of which have been produced in the last several years. Hopefully, they'll post some vintage episodes from the seventies one of these days.


After 20,000 audience votes, the audience favorite was "National Geographic Channel," with a dominating 59% of the vote.

The other nominees were "Wired Science," "Historic Campaign Ads," and "Scientific American Frontiers."

Announcing the Hulu Award for "Worst Scripted Show"

To contact us Click HERE
(Please welcome guest presenter Tamara Brooks, a regular contributor to the excellent site Zap2It)

And the Hulie "winner" is....



Knight Rider!





Oh...shed a single tear for this reboot attempt. NBC tried to give "Knight Rider" a second life but ended up dooming it to an ignoble death according to our panel.

The cheese-tastic original 80's series starred David Hasselhoff as Michael Knight. The new version starred Justin Bruening as Mike Traceur, Knight's estranged son. Bruening, a former soap actor, was charismatic enough and which is important since...well, let's be honest, they aren't replicating Shakespeare. Despite having a simple blueprint to start from, I knew there might be some bumpy roads ahead based on the fact they killed off Mike's mom for no real reason in the movie pilot. But the real problems arose from the overly elaborate updates.

Instead of Knight Industries, Mike's adventures were handed out by the government; Bonnie's job as tech guru/mechanic was distributed to a large team of scientists including Mike's old flame and her genius father; and K.I.T.T., well, he was appropriately crazy advanced even if his morphing abilities were a glorified Ford commercial. They tried to right the ship by removing the government element and returning to the "infiltrate X to save Y from Z" format of the original, but it was too little to late. Did they start out taking themselves too seriously? Was it a mistake to try to legitmize pure buttered popcorn TV entertainment? Yes and yes. At least the Turbo Boost looked sweet.

Somehow "Knight Rider" beat out "The Munsters Today", "One Tree Hill", "Heroes", "Team Knight Rider", and "Testees". Clearly some of our panel members a) don't really remember "The Munsters Today" or "Team Knight Rider" or b) don't hate "One Tree Hill" on general principle like I do.

After 20,000 votes, the audience's least favorite is...Heroes!



Never have I seen a show so beloved fall so fast from grace. When "Heroes" first premiered, it was like you could hear everyone's minds get blown at the same time. After all that awesome, Season 2 didn't quite live up to most people's expectations. Where were the team-ups? Where were all the villains? Why was the pace so slow? Why is fill-in-the-blank acting like such a douche? And why is this Maya chick so freaking annoying? By the time the writers and producers had the opportunity to try and fix their admitted mistakes, the Writer's Strike cut any acts of penance short.

Then came Season 3. Oh Season 3. For me, while the pace was faster and they delivered some solid moments, there was still the little problem of the characters. Claire had become nearly intolerable, Peter was all over the place, Hiro was acting completely unlike himself, every moment that Speedster chick was on camera I actively wanted her to die, and Suresh...don't get me started on Suresh. But there's hope. Bryan "Pushing Daisies" Fuller has returned to the series and, like everyone else involved, is looking to tighten up the storytelling and deliver a season on par with the first. It's quite possible "Heroes" might become a favorite again.

Announcing the Hulu Award for "Best Minor Television Network"

To contact us Click HERE
And the Hulie goes to....



20th Century Fox Television!







This win actually deserves to have an asterisk or two next to it. We've created a separate category for "Major Networks," because Fox and NBC are so clearly ahead of their smaller rivals in terms of high-profile content on Hulu. But taking out "Fox" left "20th Century Fox Television" still in the running, and that "non major network" took our panel's breath away with such shows as "Angel," Buffy," and "Arrested Development."

So, I'll primarily take this as a lesson on category-structuring for next year. But let's not completely ignore the achievement, which spotlights some of our panelist's favorite content on the web, bar none.

After 20,000 votes, the audience favorite is "USA" which eked out the win with 26% of the vote.

The other nominees were "Comedy Central," "Sci Fi," and "FX".

Announcing the Hulu Award for "Worst Movie"

To contact us Click HERE
(Please welcome guest presenter Tamara Brooks, a regular contributor to the excellent site Zap2It)

And the Hulie goes to....



Jackass 2.0!









In 2000, MTV debuted a series in which the stars performed occasionally funny, often dangerous, and almost always painful stunts from tasering to skateboard shenanigans to mangling body parts. Of course, do to its questionable nature, it became an instant hit. Johnny Knoxville and company eventually made the leap to the big screen not once but twice and it's that second offense that's landed them on the list.

The movie, which is just a collection of shorts, starts with the whole cast in a "Running of the Bulls" scenario and ends with a big musical number with the guys singing and dancing amidst bruising and potentially lethal stunts. Now, certain things are universally funny in spite of our better judgment, like people tripping and/or falling, but I've never been able to understand the appeal of watching a grown man staple his privates or getting battered by a bull. I'm totally not their demo.

When the voting period was taking place, "Jackass 2.0" was available for viewing. As of now the movie has been removed from the queue, to the relief of many I'm sure. But the Jackass crew's exploits can still be seen thanks to full episodes and clips from the whole series as well as the dangerous-in-a-slightly-different-way spin-off "Wildboyz".

This is a time when both the panel and the audience agrees as, after 20,000 votes, they also picked "Jackass 2.0".

The other less than stellar nominees in this category were "National Lampoon's Spring Break", "Nutty Professor 2: The Klumps", "Planet of the Apes" (the remake), "Starship Troopers", and "Xanadu". Though I have to disagree with that last one - "Xanadu" is so bad it's fantastic. I'm not ashamed to admit I own the soundtrack.

12 Ekim 2012 Cuma

Intolerant left fires diversity officer

To contact us Click HERE
A reader questions whether the leftist-gay-feminist lobby are really the most intolerant. Consider this story:
WASHINGTON — The chief diversity officer at Gallaudet University has been placed on paid leave after she signed a petition to put a gay marriage referendum on the ballot in Maryland.

Gallaudet President T. Alan Hurwitz announced Angela McCaskill’s leave in a statement Wednesday.

Hurwitz says McCaskill “participated in a legislative initiative that some feel is inappropriate” for someone in her position.

Gallaudet is the nation’s leading university for the deaf and hard of hearing.

McCaskill lives in Maryland, where voters will decide in November whether to approve a state law legalizing gay marriage. The referendum was placed on the ballot by opponents of same-sex unions.
Same-sex marriage in Maryland started when state officials began recognizing alleged marriages from out of state, against the will of the people. Any fair-minded person favoring self-government would also favor putting the issue to a vote of the people.

And yet a university official got suspended for signing a petition on her own private time.

Same-sex marriage lost a vote in California in part because the gay lobby made it clear that they would not tolerate any diversity of opinion on the subject, and would use marriage law to force people to acquiesce to the gay agenda.

Update: McCaskill is a deaf black woman whose skin color was supposed to make her a good diversity officer. The complaint against her came from some (probably gay) anonymous professor who refused to identify himself or herself. There are many things wrong here.

Psychology is poster child for bad science

To contact us Click HERE
I sometimes post evidence for the sorry state of psychology, even if it does not involve the family court. Even many of its most respected leaders are quacks. The UK journal Nature reports:
Nobel prize-winner Daniel Kahneman has issued a strongly worded call to one group of psychologists to restore the credibility of their field by creating a replication ring to check each others’ results.

Kahneman, a psychologist at Princeton University in New Jersey, addressed his open e-mail to researchers who work on social priming, the study of how subtle cues can unconsciously influence our thoughts or behaviour.
Kahneman's email says:
As all of you know, of course, questions have been raised about the robustness of priming results. The storm of doubts is fed by several sources, including the recent exposure of fraudulent researchers, general concerns with replicability that affect many disciplines, multiple reported failures to replicate salient results in the priming literature, and the growing belief in the existence of a pervasive file drawer problem that undermines two methodological pillars of your field: the preference for conceptual over literal replication and the use of meta-analysis. ...

For all these reasons, right or wrong, your field is now the poster child for doubts about the integrity of psychological research. ...

I am not a member of your community, and all I have personally at stake is that I recently wrote a book that emphasizes priming research as a new approach to the study of associative memory – the core of what dualsystem theorists call System 1. Count me as a general believer.
Kahneman's book, Thinking, Fast and Slow, has been the biggest selling science-related book of the last several years.

The book's main thesis is that there are two kinds of thinking, system 1 (fast) and system 2 (slow). His favorite example is that G.W. Bush is a fast thinker while B. Obama is a slow thinker. His book details examples of how both thinking styles can give wrong answers to trick questions.

So now Kahneman complains that his book is based on priming research that has never been replicated, except by fraudulent research? The book makes a big deal out of studies that people will pay more for life insurance after they have been "primed" by a salesman emphasizing the possibility of a terrorist attack. Kahneman considers this an example of irrational thinking, because the chance of a terrorist attack is small.

Even some of the most highly respect work in psychology is crap. I don't know how a million people could buy Kahneman's book and praise it so highly. It should be obvious that his analysic of the difference between Bush and Obama is nonsense, and his examples are silly. Now he admits that he relied on bogus research.

-.-'

To contact us Click HERE
In entrepreneurship class right now. Bored.
We have to do work in groups and my group already finished our work. So now, we have nothing to do. We're all just playing around on the computers.
Of course, I decided to use this time to write to you all, my lovely readers. :)
I'm having a pretty poopie day. Mostly because I'm thinking a lot and when I think a lot, I tend to depress myself. For no reason.
Anyways, I am incredibly bored. I already said that...
Urgghh. I feel as if this post sounds boring and like... normal. I don't sound like my usual weirdo self.
I thin I'll talk about a book I started reading today. I started Room by Emma Donoghue.

It's kind of boring so far. I've read like... *checks* 40 pages so far. It's in the point of view of a boy who seems to be locked in a room with his mother. I don't really know what's happening yet. xDThis book is on the bestseller's list so I thought it would be a good read. Maybe it will be. I shall see.Wow, this has turned out to be a pointless post.Thanks for the comments on my previous post though. About how if he doesn't want me, he doesn't deserve me, etc.It made me feel better, so yeah. Thanks. :) You people are awesome. *HUGE HUG*That's what my mind's dwelling on though. It's just so depressing. I think I'll be one of those old cat ladies. Like, I'll be sitting alone in my living room, with my fifty cats... Anyways, I'll stop this post now.Bye, lovely people. xx
PS: Holy smokes I hate this keyboard. I want to cut the cord and like, throw it out the window. Then, I want to run outside, jump into a car and run it over. GEEZ. I hate it. It's a Mac keyboard and it's all stiff and weird. -.-'
PPS: This is the new Mac and it doesn't even have the Photobooth.
PPPS: Why you be hatin', school of mine?

Haven't been blogging again.

To contact us Click HERE
Yeah, I know I haven't been blogging much, and to be honest, I won't really be blogging. A huge reason why is because the free time that I have is now taken up by Tumblr instead of being taken up by blogspot. Tumblr has really... stolen me from Blogspot, haha! XD
Well, I'm rally addicted to it, more than I am to Blogspot. So, yeah, this is kind of a goodbye but not really... I just don't feel like blogging on Blogspot anymore. I think I just lost the knack for it.
Anyways, I just want to thank you all. You've all been amazing, really. I mean, YOU, my readers are the reason why I blog on here in the first place. I follow some of you on Tumblr already, but if I don't, PLEASE stop by my ask and say hi! So, I'll have your URL and I'll follow you. :)
It's http://irememberthestars.tumblr.com/
So, yeah drop by and say hi. :) I'm really going to miss you all. And I'm going to miss this blog, because it's been something I've really enjoyed.
Anywaysssss... thanks again, to all of you. I love you guys! xoxo

PS: Really though, if you have a Tumblr, come say hi!
PPS: If I blog again, I'll just be blogging from time to time. So, I'm not going to delete this blog. It'll remain up, I'm just not going to really be blogging.
PPPS: Bye, all! <3 Hugs and kisses 5ever!
PPPPS: See what I did there? 5ever? :D

Gears of War's Future with Cliff Bleszinski - Up At Noon

To contact us Click HERE
Gears of War's Future with Cliff Bleszinski - Up At Noon Clips Review : Duration : 17.75 Minutes.

Epic Games' Cliff Bleszinski joins us to talk about iPad gaming, the future of the Gears of War franchise, and new projects from Epic! Plus, a guest appearance by skateboarding legend Tony Hawk! For the full interview with Cliff Bleszinski, click the link below: www.youtube.com Also, Greg welcomes his Mom to the audience! (be kind in the comments); Resident Nerd, Mike Drucker, rants about Michael Bay's controversial changes to the Teenage Mutant Ninja Aliens...er, Turtles; and jokes about The Hunger Games, Draw Something, the Wu-Tang Clan and more. If you liked today's episode, please hit the like button. We have more original programming on the way, so subscribe and never miss an episode: www.youtube.com And for the latest gaming news, reviews, and trailers, be sure to subscribe to IGN's YouTube channel: www.youtube.com Here's our full schedule: Up At Noon -- Mondays Splinter Cell: Extinction - Tuesdays Cheap Cool Crazy - Thursdays Mix'd Reviews - Fridays
Tags: gears of war, gears of war 3, epic games, cliff bleszinkski, cliffy b, xbox 360tony hawk, michael bay, teenage mutant ninja turtles, hunger games, draw something, wu tang clan, interview, chat, humor, skit, news, gaming news, video game news, comedy, funny, gaming, video, variety, sketch, spoof, parody, lol, start, ign, entertainment, up, at, noon, up at noon, greg miller, brian altano, mike drucker

Thanks To : Pregnancy Preparing Baby Room Themes

11 Ekim 2012 Perşembe

Announcing the Hulu Award for "Best Action TV Series"

To contact us Click HERE
(Please welcome guest presenter Tamara Brooks, a regular contributor to the excellent site Zap2It)

And the Hulie goes to....



24!










Jack Bauer has had a few bad days. Seven to be exact and our panelists have loved every one of them. "24" combines intense action, espionage, drama, innovative real-time storytelling and a great cast lead by Kiefer Sutherland. Bombings? Check. Bio-weapons? Yup. Moles, sleeper agents, and betrayals? Yes, yes and yes. Assasination plots? Those too. Thanks to this category, Jack's also bested an undercover agent ("Burn Notice"), an involuntary time-traveler ("Journeyman"), a pair of jail-jumping brothers ("Prison Break"), and a Nerd Herder ("Chuck").

After 20,000 votes, the Audience Favorite is Chuck (39%)!



While the panelists favored a more hard-edged show, the voting public have given the nod to the adventures of accidental spy Chuck Bartowski, CIA handler/love interest Sarah Walker, and NSA handler/newly minted Colonel John Casey. "Chuck" combines action, intrigue, and suspense with comedy, pop culture shout-outs, and a cast of diverse (and odd) characters. It's like the Reese's Peanut Butter Cup of TV.

Announcing the Hulu Award for "Best Clip (non-comedy)"

To contact us Click HERE

And the Hulie goes to....



Psycho's Shower Scene!









When you consider the thousands upon thousands of clips populating Hulu, it seems fitting that an iconic classic is what cuts through all the background noise to grip us. Here it is in all its black and white glory:




It's rare that a horror film asks us to dwell for so long on the aftermath of a murder. Usually, when we see a victim who has been mortally stabbed, it's because that victim is about to do something amazingly heroic. Here, Janet Leigh simply dies. We're invited to think about the way that the heart stops beating, the eyes glaze over, and whatever makes up one's life essence dissipates into the great beyond. Janet Leigh was the main character in the film; now she's gone.

Before you take a gander at the same scene in the 1998 Psycho remake, here are a few interesting tidbits about the original 1960 shower scene:
1. Even though the scene reeks of blood, gore, and violence, there are actually only three brief frames showing any type of penetration, and these show only minor cuts to Janet's stomach.
2. The blood is chocolate syrup, while the sound of the knife was created by stabbing a melon
3. Depending on which reference you believe, there are 50 cuts, and 71 or 78 angles in the three minute scene. This creates a very modern-feeling MTV effect.





After 20,000 audience votes, the Audience Favorite was

Obama's Inauguration
Obama's level of success in office will certainly determine whether this is a seminal moment in world history, or just another entry in the long list of presidential disappointments, but for now, at least, Hulu viewers have faith.

The other nominees were

My Cousin Vinny: "Expert Witness" NBC News Time Capsule: "Martin Luther King Speech" Scarface: "Say Hello to My Little Friend" Field of Dreams: "Ray and His Dad Play Catch" The Usual Suspects: "Interrogation"

You can see all of the nominated clips in their entirety
HERE


Gears of War's Future with Cliff Bleszinski - Up At Noon

To contact us Click HERE
Gears of War's Future with Cliff Bleszinski - Up At Noon Clips Review : Duration : 17.75 Minutes.

Epic Games' Cliff Bleszinski joins us to talk about iPad gaming, the future of the Gears of War franchise, and new projects from Epic! Plus, a guest appearance by skateboarding legend Tony Hawk! For the full interview with Cliff Bleszinski, click the link below: www.youtube.com Also, Greg welcomes his Mom to the audience! (be kind in the comments); Resident Nerd, Mike Drucker, rants about Michael Bay's controversial changes to the Teenage Mutant Ninja Aliens...er, Turtles; and jokes about The Hunger Games, Draw Something, the Wu-Tang Clan and more. If you liked today's episode, please hit the like button. We have more original programming on the way, so subscribe and never miss an episode: www.youtube.com And for the latest gaming news, reviews, and trailers, be sure to subscribe to IGN's YouTube channel: www.youtube.com Here's our full schedule: Up At Noon -- Mondays Splinter Cell: Extinction - Tuesdays Cheap Cool Crazy - Thursdays Mix'd Reviews - Fridays
Tags: gears of war, gears of war 3, epic games, cliff bleszinkski, cliffy b, xbox 360tony hawk, michael bay, teenage mutant ninja turtles, hunger games, draw something, wu tang clan, interview, chat, humor, skit, news, gaming news, video game news, comedy, funny, gaming, video, variety, sketch, spoof, parody, lol, start, ign, entertainment, up, at, noon, up at noon, greg miller, brian altano, mike drucker

Thanks To : Pregnancy Preparing Baby Room Themes

-.-'

To contact us Click HERE
In entrepreneurship class right now. Bored.
We have to do work in groups and my group already finished our work. So now, we have nothing to do. We're all just playing around on the computers.
Of course, I decided to use this time to write to you all, my lovely readers. :)
I'm having a pretty poopie day. Mostly because I'm thinking a lot and when I think a lot, I tend to depress myself. For no reason.
Anyways, I am incredibly bored. I already said that...
Urgghh. I feel as if this post sounds boring and like... normal. I don't sound like my usual weirdo self.
I thin I'll talk about a book I started reading today. I started Room by Emma Donoghue.

It's kind of boring so far. I've read like... *checks* 40 pages so far. It's in the point of view of a boy who seems to be locked in a room with his mother. I don't really know what's happening yet. xDThis book is on the bestseller's list so I thought it would be a good read. Maybe it will be. I shall see.Wow, this has turned out to be a pointless post.Thanks for the comments on my previous post though. About how if he doesn't want me, he doesn't deserve me, etc.It made me feel better, so yeah. Thanks. :) You people are awesome. *HUGE HUG*That's what my mind's dwelling on though. It's just so depressing. I think I'll be one of those old cat ladies. Like, I'll be sitting alone in my living room, with my fifty cats... Anyways, I'll stop this post now.Bye, lovely people. xx
PS: Holy smokes I hate this keyboard. I want to cut the cord and like, throw it out the window. Then, I want to run outside, jump into a car and run it over. GEEZ. I hate it. It's a Mac keyboard and it's all stiff and weird. -.-'
PPS: This is the new Mac and it doesn't even have the Photobooth.
PPPS: Why you be hatin', school of mine?

Haven't been blogging again.

To contact us Click HERE
Yeah, I know I haven't been blogging much, and to be honest, I won't really be blogging. A huge reason why is because the free time that I have is now taken up by Tumblr instead of being taken up by blogspot. Tumblr has really... stolen me from Blogspot, haha! XD
Well, I'm rally addicted to it, more than I am to Blogspot. So, yeah, this is kind of a goodbye but not really... I just don't feel like blogging on Blogspot anymore. I think I just lost the knack for it.
Anyways, I just want to thank you all. You've all been amazing, really. I mean, YOU, my readers are the reason why I blog on here in the first place. I follow some of you on Tumblr already, but if I don't, PLEASE stop by my ask and say hi! So, I'll have your URL and I'll follow you. :)
It's http://irememberthestars.tumblr.com/
So, yeah drop by and say hi. :) I'm really going to miss you all. And I'm going to miss this blog, because it's been something I've really enjoyed.
Anywaysssss... thanks again, to all of you. I love you guys! xoxo

PS: Really though, if you have a Tumblr, come say hi!
PPS: If I blog again, I'll just be blogging from time to time. So, I'm not going to delete this blog. It'll remain up, I'm just not going to really be blogging.
PPPS: Bye, all! <3 Hugs and kisses 5ever!
PPPPS: See what I did there? 5ever? :D

10 Ekim 2012 Çarşamba

Announcing the Hulu Award for "Best Celebrity-Driven Reality Show"

To contact us Click HERE

And the Hulie goes to....



Kitchen Nightmares!










The celebrity in question is bad boy chef Gordon Ramsay, a man whose constant stream of furious expletives has turned him into the unlikely face of British fine cuisine. American viewers may not be aware that Ramsay's hit "Kitchen Nightmares" is a British export that has been given a slight makeover for US viewers.

The formula is as predictable as a sunset, yet compelling in its details. A local restaurant is on the brink of financial ruin. Desperate to keep the doors open, they ask Ramsay for help. He comes in, tastes the food, and pronounces it inedible. He spends the next couple of days exposing any dirt he can, with the focus on filthy kitchens and unhelpful personalities. Typically, he identifies a scapegoat, whether that's the owner or a manager. He berates the owner on everything he can until the owner breaks and agrees that major changes are needed. Then Ramsay retools the menu, gussies up the dining room, and hosts an event that fills the restaurant to the brim with paying customers. Afterward, Ramsay pronounces the restaurant cured of its ills, and rides off into the sunset.

The success of the show is based on Ramsay's proven entertainment factor, as well as the innate interest we have in seeing behind the scenes of the local restaurants that serve us our food.

Fans will be excited to hear that Fox has announced a third season for this fall.

There's also a lot of buzz on the web regarding the actual fortunes of the restaurants featured on the program. How many failing restaurants are actually given a new lease on life by Ramsay's one-week visit? According to Wikipedia, 10 of the 21 featured restaurants have been closed down, with two others changing ownership since they were made over by Ramsay.

By one measure, this is a pretty dismal score. About half of the restaurants are gone, despite Ramsay's much-ballyhooed best effort. On the other hand, half of the businesses have actually been saved by a simple makeover. It's a glass half empty/glass half full kind of thing. I think the show would be better served by being a little more honest about the rickety ground that some restaurants have been left on at the end of the week.

Still, there's another measure of success for the show. In a Hulu-landscape chock-full of crappy reality shows fueld by crappy reality stars, one man stands head and shoulders above the rest. Congratulations to Gordon Ramsay and the other minds behind Kitchen Nightmares!

After 20,000 votes, the Audience Favorite is "Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D List," which scored a convincing 31% of the audience vote.

-.-'

To contact us Click HERE
In entrepreneurship class right now. Bored.
We have to do work in groups and my group already finished our work. So now, we have nothing to do. We're all just playing around on the computers.
Of course, I decided to use this time to write to you all, my lovely readers. :)
I'm having a pretty poopie day. Mostly because I'm thinking a lot and when I think a lot, I tend to depress myself. For no reason.
Anyways, I am incredibly bored. I already said that...
Urgghh. I feel as if this post sounds boring and like... normal. I don't sound like my usual weirdo self.
I thin I'll talk about a book I started reading today. I started Room by Emma Donoghue.

It's kind of boring so far. I've read like... *checks* 40 pages so far. It's in the point of view of a boy who seems to be locked in a room with his mother. I don't really know what's happening yet. xDThis book is on the bestseller's list so I thought it would be a good read. Maybe it will be. I shall see.Wow, this has turned out to be a pointless post.Thanks for the comments on my previous post though. About how if he doesn't want me, he doesn't deserve me, etc.It made me feel better, so yeah. Thanks. :) You people are awesome. *HUGE HUG*That's what my mind's dwelling on though. It's just so depressing. I think I'll be one of those old cat ladies. Like, I'll be sitting alone in my living room, with my fifty cats... Anyways, I'll stop this post now.Bye, lovely people. xx
PS: Holy smokes I hate this keyboard. I want to cut the cord and like, throw it out the window. Then, I want to run outside, jump into a car and run it over. GEEZ. I hate it. It's a Mac keyboard and it's all stiff and weird. -.-'
PPS: This is the new Mac and it doesn't even have the Photobooth.
PPPS: Why you be hatin', school of mine?

Haven't been blogging again.

To contact us Click HERE
Yeah, I know I haven't been blogging much, and to be honest, I won't really be blogging. A huge reason why is because the free time that I have is now taken up by Tumblr instead of being taken up by blogspot. Tumblr has really... stolen me from Blogspot, haha! XD
Well, I'm rally addicted to it, more than I am to Blogspot. So, yeah, this is kind of a goodbye but not really... I just don't feel like blogging on Blogspot anymore. I think I just lost the knack for it.
Anyways, I just want to thank you all. You've all been amazing, really. I mean, YOU, my readers are the reason why I blog on here in the first place. I follow some of you on Tumblr already, but if I don't, PLEASE stop by my ask and say hi! So, I'll have your URL and I'll follow you. :)
It's http://irememberthestars.tumblr.com/
So, yeah drop by and say hi. :) I'm really going to miss you all. And I'm going to miss this blog, because it's been something I've really enjoyed.
Anywaysssss... thanks again, to all of you. I love you guys! xoxo

PS: Really though, if you have a Tumblr, come say hi!
PPS: If I blog again, I'll just be blogging from time to time. So, I'm not going to delete this blog. It'll remain up, I'm just not going to really be blogging.
PPPS: Bye, all! <3 Hugs and kisses 5ever!
PPPPS: See what I did there? 5ever? :D

YO MOMMA JOKES

To contact us Click HERE
YO MOMMA JOKES Clips Review : Duration : 2.62 Minutes.

I freaking love this video :) Thank you so much to all the channels that took part in this collab :) Make sure you tweet @ the people in this video to let them know how awesome they did! Thank you!! CHECK THEM OUT :) TiffanyJoAllen - youtube.com Spricket24 - youtube.com pellekofficial - - youtube.com TaniaUncensored - youtube.com AidanWattTV - youtube.com TheBoredomRoom - youtube.com PimplyWimp - youtube.com FoggyDisaster - youtube.com MattG124 - youtube.com FLuffeeTalks - youtube.com Thank you for watching this YO MOMMA JOKES video :)
Tags: yo momma jokes, yo moma jokes, yo moma so fat, yo momma so fat, funny jokes, funny video, your, yo, momma, moma, mother, mom, funny, comedy, skit, sketch, humor, joke, elmo, yo momma so ugly, yo momma so poor, yo momma so dumb, yo momma so stupid, jokes, hilarious, awesome

Visit : Babie Breast

Gears of War's Future with Cliff Bleszinski - Up At Noon

To contact us Click HERE
Gears of War's Future with Cliff Bleszinski - Up At Noon Clips Review : Duration : 17.75 Minutes.

Epic Games' Cliff Bleszinski joins us to talk about iPad gaming, the future of the Gears of War franchise, and new projects from Epic! Plus, a guest appearance by skateboarding legend Tony Hawk! For the full interview with Cliff Bleszinski, click the link below: www.youtube.com Also, Greg welcomes his Mom to the audience! (be kind in the comments); Resident Nerd, Mike Drucker, rants about Michael Bay's controversial changes to the Teenage Mutant Ninja Aliens...er, Turtles; and jokes about The Hunger Games, Draw Something, the Wu-Tang Clan and more. If you liked today's episode, please hit the like button. We have more original programming on the way, so subscribe and never miss an episode: www.youtube.com And for the latest gaming news, reviews, and trailers, be sure to subscribe to IGN's YouTube channel: www.youtube.com Here's our full schedule: Up At Noon -- Mondays Splinter Cell: Extinction - Tuesdays Cheap Cool Crazy - Thursdays Mix'd Reviews - Fridays
Tags: gears of war, gears of war 3, epic games, cliff bleszinkski, cliffy b, xbox 360tony hawk, michael bay, teenage mutant ninja turtles, hunger games, draw something, wu tang clan, interview, chat, humor, skit, news, gaming news, video game news, comedy, funny, gaming, video, variety, sketch, spoof, parody, lol, start, ign, entertainment, up, at, noon, up at noon, greg miller, brian altano, mike drucker

Thanks To : Pregnancy Preparing Baby Room Themes

9 Ekim 2012 Salı

Announcing the Hulu Award for "Worst Reality Show"

To contact us Click HERE
And the Hulie goes to....



Living Lohan!










When you're searching for the worst reality show on Hulu, there's no shortage of candidates. How does one show sink far enough below the bar to beat out the most damnable shows in tv history? Answer: Be ruined fame whore Dina Lohan, from whose womb the endlessly vacant Lindsay Lohan sprang.

In a sense, the show serves as an apology and a raison d 'etre for Lindsay Lohan's apparent lack of humanity. Who among us could be raised by such a woman and emerge with an ounce of moral fiber?

The show has taken two detestable and fame-hungry people (Dina and Lindsay sibling Ali-- we'll exclude the pubescent Cody for the time being), and created heaps of horrifically artificial conflict and drama in an effort to wring out a palatable storyline.

With literally nothing going for it, it's a miracle that the show was ever greenlighted by the good folks at E! television. Good job E! You're number one at sucking!


After 20,000 votes, the audience pick is also "Living Lohan," with a 29% share.

Other nominees were "Denise Richards: It's Complicated," "Temptation Island," "Keeping Up With the Kardashians," and "Hey Paula."

Announcing the Hulu Award for "Best Non-Competitive Reality Show"

To contact us Click HERE


And the Hulie goes to....



30 Days!






Many thanks to Morgan Spurlock, friend of the Hulu Review, for sending us this picture. It truly captures the pride and surprise with which he received his award.

Similarly, 30 Days has captured the hearts and minds of our voting panel. Many intellectuals turn their back on the landscape of reality television, dismissing the genre as beyond redemption. But Spurlock has taken the more admirable approach-- he has harnessed the love that the mouth-breathing public feels for reality television, and turned it into an effective means of education on a wide range of issues.



Over the course of its three season run, the program touched on every controversial topic imaginable. Immigration, religious intolerance, abortion, animal rights, gun rights, and more all got the full treatment. In this case, for those who don't know, the full treatment usually involves immersing a person from one way of life in the community of their ideological opposite. So, the homophobe lives among homosexuals for the titular 30 days, and thereby learns a little something about the other side of the fence. Not all of the shows revolved around opposites. For example, Morgan Spurlock himself spent a sweaty month working in a coal mine, alongside hard laborers for whom he already had a large amount of respect.

Spurlock fans can look forward to his next film project, an adaptation of the hit (and thought-provoking) book, "Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Looks at the Hidden Side of Everything." It should come out sometime this year.

Now, with the show gone from the airwaves, it lives on in digital format at Hulu.com. One nice thing about the 30 Days presence on Hulu is that the roster is complete-- no teasing here. Watch all 18 episodes at your leisure, here.

After 20,000 audience votes, the audience favorite was "Pressure Cook," with 31% of the vote.

The other nominees were "Destination Truth," "Queer Eye," "Ghost Hunters," and "America's Most Wanted."

Announcing the Hulu Award for "Best Comedic Clip"

To contact us Click HERE

And the Hulie goes to....



Peter's Interview from "Office Space"!










There were literally thousands of comedic clips on Hulu to choose from, and the list of ten finalists was long, distinguished, and hilarious.

But only one clip made the final cut, and it's fitting that it comes from an independent cult classic such as "Office Space." Even more fittingly, fans of director/writer Mike Judge can look forward to this year's "Extract," where Judge works with Ben Affleck, Mila Kunis, and Jason Bateman to bring us all some thoughtful comedy.

After 20,000 audience votes, the Audience Favorite was "Dick In A Box," the much ballyhooed Timberlake/Samberg digital short, which aired on Saturday Night Live.

The other nominees were

Arrested Development: "Making Fun of Michael" Animal House: "Toga Guitar Smash" The Office: "Goodbye, Toby" Robin Hood: Men In Tights: "Men In Tights" Shaun of the Dead: "Throwing Records"
The Big Lebowski: "Don't Fuck With Jesus" 30 Rock: "Jenna on Hardball" It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia: "Spin Class"



You can see all of the nominated clips in their entirety
HERE


Announcing the Hulu Award for "Best Short Format Comedy Series"

To contact us Click HERE


And the Hulie goes to....



Dorm Life!






Dorm Life is the little web series that could, beating out other competitors with far bigger budgets, and far more famous comic talents. For those who don't know, the show takes the mockumentary model made famous by Christopher Guest and "The Office," and transposes it to a college setting. The creators of the show have shown remarkable savvy-- how many college students will sit down and make an insightful and appropriate comedy centered on their actual surroundings, rather than choosing an obscure intellectual topic they just learned about in class?

It comes as no surprise that Dorm Life is Hulu's most-watched web show.

After 20,000 audience votes, the audience favorite was also "Dorm Life," with an emphatic 44% of the vote.

The other nominees were "The All For Nots," "Carpet Brothers," "The Writer's Room," and "That Guy."

Announcing the Hulu Award for "Best Classic Movie"

To contact us Click HERE
(Please welcome guest presenter Sam Christopher, who, along with his cronies, runs the awesome SciFi site Axiom's Edge)

And the Hulie goes to....



Night of the Living Dead!







And here, accepting the Hulie for Best Classic Movie is Kyra Schon:

I am deeply honored to have been asked to accept the Hulu Award for Best Classic Movie on behalf of Night of the Living Dead, and I am thrilled that this movie was chosen, among the greatest classic films in history, to claim this award.

Full credit for the film must go to the extraordinarily talented group of adults who were involved in its creation, and not to the nine year old kid who, through sheer luck, happened to land a small part in it.

The "adults" and creative geniuses behind the production were co-producers and actors Russ Streiner and Karl Hardman, co-writer and actor John Russo, and the brilliant and dedicated ensemble cast members, Judith O'Dea, Bill Hinzman, Duane Jones, Keith Wayne, Judith Ridley, Marilyn Eastman, Charles Craig and George Kosana. Many more people generously contributed their time and talents on-screen and behind the scenes to help create what would become a classic in the horror genre.

The "Night" crew was fortunate to count then-fledgling director and co-writer George A. Romero among its friends and colleagues. Night of the Living Dead was George's first feature film, but his style was already clearly in place. George consistently brings sanity, soul and a sardonic sense of humor to his film projects, encouraging us to recognize persecution and injustice. His socio-political views have most often found their voice in the guise of horror films, but there's much more to them than just zombies. They reveal the stupidity of racism, sexism, abusive and overreaching government, social inequity, mindless consumerism, class warfare and, yes, the threat of zombies. His voice has resonated through generations of horror film fans who recognize the subtext as more than meets the eye. Without George's direction and editing, Night of the Living Dead may have been a far different film.

On behalf of the "Night" family, I extend heartfelt gratitude to the awards panel for bestowing this special honor on Night of the Living Dead.
Many thanks to Kyra, a Friend of the Hulu Review, for taking the time to personally accept this award. You can check out here latest pursuits at her website, The Ghoul Next Door.

After 20,000 audience votes, the Audience Choice is "Some Like it Hot."

One of the great comedies of all time, this film boasts a stellar cast including Marilyn Monroe, Tony Curtis, Jack Lemmon, George Raft, and a bunch of other people you've heard of. The story is that a couple guys are hiding from gangsters dressed as female musicians. And, of course, one of them falls in love with Marilyn Monroe (I know, I know, if you only had a nickel, right?), and the other... well, you just really need to watch the movie.

The other nominees were "Wuthering Heights" and "Pride of the Yankees."


8 Ekim 2012 Pazartesi

Protecting child privacy

To contact us Click HERE
The NY Times reports:
Federal regulators are about to take the biggest steps in more than a decade to protect children online.

McDonald’s invites children who visit HappyMeal.com to upload their photos so they can make collages or videos.

The moves come at a time when major corporations, app developers and data miners appear to be collecting information about the online activities of millions of young Internet users without their parents’ awareness, children’s advocates say. Some sites and apps have also collected details like children’s photographs or locations of mobile devices; the concern is that the information could be used to identify or locate individual children. ....

The current federal rule, the Children’s Online Privacy Protection Act of 1998, requires operators of children’s Web sites to obtain parental consent before they collect personal information like phone numbers or physical addresses from children under 13. But rapid advances in technology have overtaken the rules, privacy advocates say.
Advances in technology? Facebook just asks kids to check a box saying that they are over 13. Maybe all kids under 18 should be allowed to friend their parents.

This whole privacy thing is a joke. A lot of people are secretive about their phone numbers, Social Security numbers, home addresses, credit card numbers, birth date, credit score, etc. But all of this info is collected by data companies and sold to marketing companies every day. Most people have a whole lot less privacy than they think they have.

You might think that you can find the public info on yourself by googling your name. You cannot. The good databases are not free. Cheap enough to be bought and sold for marketing purposes, but not free.

In the name of privacy, all 13-year-old girls get the right to free birth control pills under Obamacare, with no notification to parents. We had a voter initiative in California several years ago to require parental notification of abortion, and it was rejected. The initiative was just for parental notification, not consent. Kids still require parental consent for body piercings and tatoos.

When the FTC announces that it is protecting child privacy, it is really greenlighting some approved spying practices. Do you ever get a mailing with pages of fine print about how some bank or other company was revising its privacy. You can try to read those things, but it is useless. There is always some escape clause saying that they can sell your account info to affiliates, with no explanation of who those affiliates are.

The FTC is not going to protect your kids. Neither is anyone else. Not like parents. If they really wanted to protect kids, they would give parents more authority over them.

Multiple mommies vetoed

To contact us Click HERE
I complained on July 11 and July 12 about a new proposed California law for kids to have 3 or more mommies. The NY Times then wrote about it. A couple of other states already have such laws.

It is a horrible idea. I am pleasantly surprised that even our leftist governor agrees. An LGBT site reports:
California governor Jerry Brown has vetoed a bill that would have provided protections for children with more than two parents, explaining he was sympathetic to the families where this applies but needed more time to consider the issue.
This misstates the bill. There are no children with more than two parents. This bill would not have protected any children. The primary purpose was to let lesbians interfere with natural parents. I had to learn about this from the LGBT press because the LGBT lobby is obsessed with destroying normal families.
The bill, which was authored by state senator Mark Leno would have adjusted a recent California Court of Appeal decision, In re M.C., which ruled that courts can never determine that a child has more than two parents, regardless of the situation and even if it would protect the child from harm, according to the National Center for Lesbian Rights. The court did, however, call upon the legislature to address the issue.

Leno said the bill could have ensured that "children are not unnecessarily put in the foster care system by allowing judges to recognize the fact that some young people are raised by more than two parents." He added that he would continue to work with the governor to create a solution. ...

"Until this law gets changed, judges in California will be forced to issue rulings they know will hurt children by bluntly ordering an end to their real relationships with their real parents," Howard said. "This is wrong and it should not endure."
As I explained before, that case did not subject the child to harm. It said that the child should be returned to his dad, instead of the two lesbians who had blocked the dad's parental rights. The two lesbians were found to be unfit. This was a case where the child has one fit parent, not three.

No, the court case did not call upon the legislature to address the issue. The closest the decision comes to that is this:
But even if the extremely unusual factual circumstances of this unfortunate case made it an appropriate action in which to take on such complex practical, political and social matters, we would not be free to do so. Such important policy determinations, which will profoundly impact families, children and society, are best left to the Legislature. ... to date, the Supreme Court has rejected the concept of dual paternity or maternity where such recognition would result in three parents ...
But as the court explained, having three parents would not have helped this case. The root of the problem in this case is that a flaky drug-addicted unfit lesbian claimed paternity by virtue of being in a domestic partnership with the mom. If there is any legal change that this case begs for, it is that a lesbian should never be considered the father of a child.

Leno, the gay Jewish extreme leftist politician, is wrong to say that his law would save kids from foster care. It would not have even helped the kid in the case he cites.

This destructive law will surely be back, as it is a logical consequence of same-sex marriage. The LGBT lobby is desperate to destroy the natural meaning of the word "parent", and we will have proposals for polygamy, plural marriage, plural parenting, and anything else that serves to help destroy the traditional American family.

Another stupid new law

To contact us Click HERE
Here is another new law:
California Governor Jerry Brown has signed legislation introduced by Assembly member Toni Atkins, (D-San Diego) that prevents victims from being forced to pay spousal support to ex-husbands or wives who are convicted of violent crime against them. Assembly Bill 1522 was inspired by the case of a San Diego-area woman, Crystal Harris, who was ordered to pay her former husband monthly spousal support during the pendency of his criminal trial. After he was convicted and sentenced to six years, Harris was ordered to pay a portion of his legal fees.
This may sound reasonable, but look at the case that justified this law:
A man accused of sexually assaulting his wife will not have to stand trial again, 10News reported.

Shawn Harris is scheduled to be sentenced Nov. 5 after he was convicted last Friday of forcible oral copulation against his wife, Crystal. Jurors deadlocked on the two other charges, including forcible rape. ...

In court, she testified her husband had raped her and said the attack was the culmination of abuse that started months before. ...

For her own protection, she said she set up a tape recorder to record the threats. However, one of the recordings was the actual rape, Harris added. ...

While too graphic for 10News to broadcast in its entirety, jurors who listened to the 50-minute recording did not believe the defense's story that the sex was part of role-playing. But the jury did not completely buy into Crystal Harris' story as well.

"There were inconsistencies in their stories. Some things are just not plausible," said juror Lisa Yumi Mitchell. ...

"This is one of those crimes that I don't ever hear talked about in the media or in our culture," said Harris.
Nobody talks about it because no one believes that it is a crime. What kind of wife tape-records her husband having sex with her, and then claims that the tape is evidence of rape? Even tho she was free to say whatever would best frame her husband, the jury did not believe her story.

The wife was not exactly helpless. This is not the Crystal Harris who left Hugh Hefner at the altar last year. This Crystal Harris had the money:
Despite Shawn Harris' record of domestic violence and the fact that he was awaiting a separate trial for rape charges during their divorce proceedings, family court Judge Gregory Pollack ordered Crystal Harris to pay her husband $1,000 a month, in part because she was the family breadwinner, a financial advisor making about $120,000 a year, while her husband stayed home with the kids. Before the birth of their sons, Shawn Harris had worked as a used car salesman.

"The computer came up with a number of $3,000 a month that I should pay Shawn, but the judge did lower that down to $1,000 a month," Crystal Harris said.
The new law seems severe:
(1) An award of spousal support to the convicted spouse from the injured spouse is prohibited. ...

(4) The injured spouse shall be entitled to 100 percent of the community property interest in the retirement and pension benefits of the injured spouse.
So the wife makes a bogus rape accusation and the husband loses 100% of his pension?

Harris was not trapped in an abusive relationship. She could have left at any time. We have unilateral (no fault) divorce for that. She had an ongoing sexual relationship with her husband. If she changed her mind about how much she liked the rough sex, she could have gotten a divorce. It appears to me that this vindictive woman set up her husband so that she would not have to pay alimony.

San Francisco sheriff Mirkarimi faces a big vote on whether he gets fired for once grabbing his wife's arm. They would probably try to take his pension away also, if they could. Stay tuned for how liberal Democrats intervene in the private personal lives of others.

-.-'

To contact us Click HERE
In entrepreneurship class right now. Bored.
We have to do work in groups and my group already finished our work. So now, we have nothing to do. We're all just playing around on the computers.
Of course, I decided to use this time to write to you all, my lovely readers. :)
I'm having a pretty poopie day. Mostly because I'm thinking a lot and when I think a lot, I tend to depress myself. For no reason.
Anyways, I am incredibly bored. I already said that...
Urgghh. I feel as if this post sounds boring and like... normal. I don't sound like my usual weirdo self.
I thin I'll talk about a book I started reading today. I started Room by Emma Donoghue.

It's kind of boring so far. I've read like... *checks* 40 pages so far. It's in the point of view of a boy who seems to be locked in a room with his mother. I don't really know what's happening yet. xDThis book is on the bestseller's list so I thought it would be a good read. Maybe it will be. I shall see.Wow, this has turned out to be a pointless post.Thanks for the comments on my previous post though. About how if he doesn't want me, he doesn't deserve me, etc.It made me feel better, so yeah. Thanks. :) You people are awesome. *HUGE HUG*That's what my mind's dwelling on though. It's just so depressing. I think I'll be one of those old cat ladies. Like, I'll be sitting alone in my living room, with my fifty cats... Anyways, I'll stop this post now.Bye, lovely people. xx
PS: Holy smokes I hate this keyboard. I want to cut the cord and like, throw it out the window. Then, I want to run outside, jump into a car and run it over. GEEZ. I hate it. It's a Mac keyboard and it's all stiff and weird. -.-'
PPS: This is the new Mac and it doesn't even have the Photobooth.
PPPS: Why you be hatin', school of mine?