9 Temmuz 2012 Pazartesi

Unknown Saxophonist

To contact us Click HERE
Unknown Saxophonist Tube : Duration : 2.52 Minutes.

A beautiful sax player in the streets of Milan... For those who are skeptical... I filmed this with my mobile phone and because the video camera was awful it has caused delays. The sound isn't synchronized with the movement that's all. So do not say it is a joke, because it isn't! Besides that's my mom who's crying.... Here is a picture of the guy... lucia-pinto.deviantart.com
Keywords: unknown, sax, player, milan, street

Friends Link : Pregnancy Preparing

Today :)

To contact us Click HERE
Hey, everyone!
Today was alright. English class was the best, actually. My English teacher, Ms. E had a total spaz attack. Some kids in the class were talking and she got sooo pissed.
Ms. E exploded.
Ms. E: You see, those of you who are talking are RUDE. You are RUDE, RUDE, RUDE. This used to be my best class and now it's FAR from it. All you do is TALK. You are a bunch of INCONSIDERATE, SELFISH, RUDE children! Never in my life have I had such a problem with talking. NEVER. You know what? Those of you who are good and want to learn and WANT to succeed in life, I want you to sit on one side of the class. On the other side can be the other RUDE students who don't want to cooperate. You can all DIE for all I care. I probably shouldn't say that, but it's the damn TRUTH.

Some girl in the class: (Quietly) Oh yeah, and you'll feel bad if one of us does die.

Me: (in head) LOLOLOLOL.

My friend Jessie and I were trying so hard not to burst out laughing. Well, we were covering our mouths and stamping our feet. It was just SOO funny. I don't even know why, but it was. It was like the funniest thing I had ever gone through in class, LOL.
Anyways, I'm stressing a bit about prom. This is prom season and all the limos are getting booked. Now, the limos left over are super expensive. 1500 for like six hours! It's incredible.
So now, I'm left with the option of either having parents drive us or paying a lot for a limo that if I had started looking earlier would have been cheaper.
Sigh. What to do... What to do?
Oh and I was feeling really poopie just now because of Nikita my step-sister (as always) and my friend Bipreet was like: ":/ Hun don't let her put you down. Stand up for yourself. Be like bitch plz get on ma level."
LOLOL LOVE THIS GIRL. OMG.

PS: Room is getting MUCH better. It's actually really, REALLY good now. So, yeah, go read it!

Pissed off.

To contact us Click HERE
Yeah, I got really pissed off today. It has to do with He Who Shall Not Be Named and this kid named O. This is what happened:
O: Hey, HWSNBN, you need a haircut, bro.
HWSNBN: Yeah, I know. I think I'll go this weekend.
O: Yeah, and you should take Jodie-Ann with you.
Me *furious*
Because seriously, I could have killed him. How dare he say that?!
I gave him a really dirty look and when I looked forward again, HWSNBN was looking at me. The look on his face is, like, imprinted on my brain.
His eyebrows were furrowed and he was squinting at me sort of. And his lips were pressed together really tightly so they were really thin. He looked not exactly pissed off, but frustrated and disappointed. Then, he looked away really fast at his books.
The look on his face was like he was saying, "Does he know? Did you tell people?"
Now how in the world am I supposed to talk to him? I already have a really hard time because of what happened. And now, O just made it worse. More embarrassing.
God, when I talk to HWSNBN, I can't even look him in the eye. I just look like over his shoulder, or I'll use a prop like a book or something.
It's horrible.
I can barely even talk to him!
O just totally screwed me over. Maybe he thought he was being funny or something, but he really wasn't. I'm so embarrassed right now.
I went home and I, like, CRIED. It's just so depressing for me, you know? And O's stupid comment made it worse.
I don't know know what I'm going to do now... I don't know if HWSNBN is mad at me, or what. Or maybe he's disappointed in me... I don't know.
Actually, I don't even know how O knows anything about HWSNBN. I really don't. Clearly he thought it would be funny to set up a little date or something, but I already KNOW he's not interested in me and O just has to- You know what? No. I will stop blogging now. Because I am so pissed off and depressed right now that I'm just rambling and making this post really long and repetitive.
Bye bye, readers.

Book Review: Room by Emma Donoghue.

To contact us Click HERE

So this is a review of the novel Room by Emma Donoghue, as you can probably guess from the title.
I absolutely LOVED this book. LOVED LOVED LOVED. Readers, you all have to read this, no joke. This book is just too good to pass up.
I finished it last night at about one A.M. XD
It's just... oh my goodness.
Okay so it's about this woman who we only know as Ma and her son named Jack. Ma and Jack are in Room, which is a room that they've been in for seven years. Well, seven for Ma, and five for Jack because he's five years old. Ma was kidnapped when she was 19 by this creepy dude who we know as Old Nick. Basically, he kidnapped her for sexual purposes and had her locked up in Room where she got pregnant and gave birth to Jack.
Seeing as Jack was born in Room and never left it, he doesn't know about the outside world. He doesn't understand that there are billions of other people Outside. That there are kids just like him. That there really is ice cream and cars and houses.
It's fascinating, really, to see how the plot unfolds. This novel is in the point of view of Jack so the vocabulary is of course not excellent, but pretty good for a five year old. It's incredible. It's really realistic, like I really felt like a five year old boy was talking to me.
I've got to hand it to Miss Emma Donighue. I know it wasn't easy to write Room in the POV of a little boy. But she pulled it off flawlessly. THAT is true talent.
Basically, I liked everything, I disliked nothing, and you have to read it. Yeah, the beginning is a bit boring, but trust me, it speeds up. This book is on the bestselling list for a reason!
Cutest quote in the book:
"[Jack said,] 'They say you're beautiful.'
Ma laughs.
Actually she is. I've seen so many person faces for real now and hers is the most beautifulest."
<3

Exams next week.

To contact us Click HERE
I'm supposed to be studying for my exams, hehe. But I'm not. Oohhhh I'm so cool!
Not really.
I was studying last night and earlier today for at least four hours. I think I deserve a break. :)
I have started reading a book called Frozen by Robin Wasserman where this girl gets into a car accident and her filthy rich parents pay to transplant her brain to a mechanical body.
The entire series. I only just started Frozen. How cool are these covers?!
Isn't that cool? But weird? But also pretty cool?
Like wow I'm going to like get into an accident and they'll just take my brain out and put it into a robot body. I really wonder though whether she has, like, human skin over the mechanical body? Or does she seriously look like a robot?
And I guess she doesn't need to pee, right? Or poo. Or eat...
Holy snap! No more ice cream or chocolate bars or... fries...
I don't see the point in the transplant. Her life is pretty much over. NO FOOD?! You can take away my life, but you can't take away my food!
Hmm... I want fries. Like, a large one from McDonald's.
...Yum.
Good God, just look at them. Look at that golden color, that sexy red box, that huge upside-down 'W'...
Man, I need an allowance, because I need some of them fries.
Oh and there was a funny picture on Tumblr where there was this guy who got hit by like a truck or something and he was like lying there, practically dead. And this Black woman walks up to him and is like "HELLO? IS YOU OKAY?"
I laughed and laughed and laughed... you get the picture. Just imagine it in your head. Obviously the dead guy was pretending, but imagine the situation in your head. It really amused me. XD

PS: Want to see my awesome Tumblr? Click here. :)

8 Temmuz 2012 Pazar

Sorry, but this is a pants-free zone, buddy.

To contact us Click HERE
Hey, lovely readers!
I had an English exam yesterday, which quite frankly, was boring and pointless. Today at one o'clock, I have a psychology exam. Which I'm actually really excited for because I studied really hard all weekend for it. :)
Anyways, seeing as I have exams, I don't really have anything interesting to talk about.
So, I shall post new musical obsessions! Yayyyyyy and the crowd goes wild...
Yeah...
So, here we go, first one:

Siberia by LIGHTS

Kay so I absolutely ADORE LIGHTS. Like really, LIGHTS, you are so awesome. I love her music and she is just so adorable! I mean, LOOK at her! LOOK! Girl, your pants offend me. REMOVE THEM. Kay thanks.

The Cave by Mumford & Sons

I hate the music video, but I love the song. Yay Mumford & Sons!

Frame and Focus by LIGHTS

Need I repeat my adoration for LIGHTS? I think not.

Heavy Rope by LIGHTS

I think this song is beautiful. Plus, you know, LIGHTS sings it soo...

What Makes You Beautiful by One Direction

Okay so these guys have talent AND they are SOOO HOT OMG OMG. Bro... just... can we just... can we please... can... can you see... LGJSIDSHUIOHFID.

Danza Kuduro by Don Omar ft. Lucenzo

This is my jam. 'Nuff said.
Toodle-oo! xx

PS: Almost done Frozen. SO GOOD. Everyone read it!

Almost died today. Jokes.

To contact us Click HERE
Today I had my French exam.
Nearly died. Jokes.
But really, it was the hardest exam EVAAAAR. I felt like my brain was going to explode! I was using my dictionary like every five minutes. It was horrible!
Here are some pictures of me before the exam(I was bored):

See that blue thing in the background? It's my sexy blue shower cap. No, sorry to disappoint you, but it's not a thong.



Oh and I saw He Who Shall Not Be Named. Well, he goes to my school so obviously I saw him. Anyways, he walked by me and smiled and nodded, so I smiled and nodded so we were kind of just smiling and nodding at each other. Then, he walked away and of course, where did my eyeballs go? His butt. You know, he has a really nice butt. :)
ANYWAYS.
After the exam, Léa and I went to McDonald's. I know, I know, I swore that I wasn't going to eat burgers from McDonald's, but I couldn't help it! Plus, Léa had a two for one coupon! We got two Big Macs for 4.99! It was soooo awesome. Then, we bought some other thing that I only know the name of in French.
Oh and we were eating our Big Macs on the bus. Yep. Stuffing our faces, getting sauce on our chins and cheeks because we forgot to ask for napkins and the woman at the cash forgot to give it to us. So yeah. I can just imagine what fatsacks we looked like!
OUUUUU AND LOOK AT THESE SEXY GUYS OMG OMG.
Kay so, one in the grey sweater second from the extreme left. I happen to know his name is Zayn. HE'S BRITISH OMG. You all know by now how much I love British guys soo... yeah. I think he's the cutest of them all. I love his skin tone. It's like caramel... like mocha... nice, delicious, warm mocha...
*slaps self*
Calm yourself, Jodie-Ann. Calm yourself.
Bye, my friends! :D

PS: Omg if I ever met him, I'd like faint or something. I'd hear his accent and scream till I passed out. I'm such a sad soul. I'd never survive in England. I'd be screaming all day. XD
PPS:
How is he so gorgeous?! For God's sakes. What is this? Gosh, something... how... why... what... HOW?! No. Why are you wearing that suit? Do you not know that a well-taylored suit for a woman is what lingerie is for a man? Of course you know that. That's why you're wearing it...-.-'Yeah, so he looks good here. Yeah. Kay bye. xDPPPS: Oh, wait, I finished Frozen. Reading Shattered now. SO GOOD! READ IT!
Enhanced by Zemanta

Stupid.

To contact us Click HERE
I really hate some of the kids at my school. Like some... some kids just need to be punched in the face and thrown into a ditch.
Stupid kids.
Something happened yesterday to piss me off, having to do with a stupid kid at school and He Who Shall Not Be Named.
Jeez.
Tomorrow is an information meeting at a college I applied to. The second college I applied to (as a back up) has one one Wednesday. I'm just going to ask questions and whatnot. :) Should be fun.
Ummm... yeah.
I shall go now because I don't even know what to talk about. XD
Toodles! xx

TAG TAG TAG TAG TAG!

To contact us Click HERE
Soo, I got tagged by the lovely and super gorgeous Bhadra! Here are zee rules:


  1. Post these rules
  2. Post 11 random things about yourself
  3. Answer the questions that tagger set for you in their post
  4. Create 11 new questions for the people you tag to answer
  5. Go to their blog and tell them they've been tagged.
YAY! :D Alright so, I posted the rules. Now, I have to post 11 random stuff about none other than: ME! :D
UN: Hmm... I love to dance. Dancing is just soo much fun. I have no clue why. It just is, okay? It just is.DEUX: I am addicted to Tumblr. 'Nuff said. It is just soo awesome.TROIS: I'm a size seven in shoes. Sometimes eight. Mostly seven.QUATRE: I have really short hair and it irritates me. I'm really self-conscious of it.CINQ: I'm a feminist. Not like a crazy I-hate-men (clearly I loooove men. Heyy Zayn Malik call me, okay?) but like I believe that women should not have to rely on men. That's all.SIX: My eyelashes are really short. Hate it.SEPT: I'm extremely self-conscious of my body. Low self-esteem, blah blah blahhhhh. Boring topic, moving ooonnnnn!HUIT: Wait, are you serious I have to think of more? Oh good God, please allow me to not succumb to the great desire to shoot myself in-NEUF: -the head.DIX: See what I did there? Ahahahahaha!ONZE: I'm awesome. You love me. Yeah. :) Love you, too.
Alright, gotta answer questions!
1. Do you think the zodiac you were born under has an impact on your life?Yep. I'm a Libra and it's EXACTLY me. Like, not one thing is different. Not ONE. I'm not even kidding. It's actually creepy.
2. What is your favourite type of movie?ROMANCE. Then again, you all probably know this. XD I looove love scenes. Zee kissing, zee hugging, zee touching ees my fave. Love it. Keep it coming.
3. What type personality are you?My personality type is ESFJ. I'm reading up what it means. If you're curious, click here.
4. What effect has blogging had on you?Exciting, yet calming. I love the excitement of ouu what does everyone has to say to that? And I love the calming of when I'm pissed off and I post something and people comment and cheer me up. Yeah, messed up sentence, but... yeah.
5. Do you care about politics?Poli- what?
6. What do you think the world will be like in twenty years?Horrible. Little kids wearing mini skirts and baggy jeans. Nine year olds talking about sex and worrying if their boyfriends will dump them. Pollution. Basically, I see the world crumbling.
7. Where did you/do you hope to go to university?At a local university. I love Quebec. Even though I complain about the French, it's unique and I actually like it. XD
8. Favourite flavour ice-cream?BUTTERSCOTCH! OMG. Love butterscotch. Mmm. Butterscotch. YUM.
9. Favourite subject at school?I don't even have one anymore. I hate school so much now that everything sucks. I can't wait to get out of high school. I honestly don't think anything can be worse than high school.
10. One thing that always ticks you off.People who smoke near me. GO AWAY YOU STINKY PERSON.
11. Do you play the Sims?YES! Love it! My faaave game. :D

Okay and my questions:
1. What are your career plans?
2. What's your fave color?
3. What hobbies do you have?
4. What countries do you wish to visit some day?
5. What's your fave season?
6. Why do you blog?
7. What's your fave TV show?
8. What's your fave movie?
9. Do you like to dance?
I can't think of anything else. -.-' 11 questions is wayy too much. XD
Oh and I have to tag people. Okay, I people. I'm going to break the rules and tag three people because five is really not necessary.

Mark! Mayen! and Ishashime!

Haven't been blogging again.

To contact us Click HERE
Yeah, I know I haven't been blogging much, and to be honest, I won't really be blogging. A huge reason why is because the free time that I have is now taken up by Tumblr instead of being taken up by blogspot. Tumblr has really... stolen me from Blogspot, haha! XD
Well, I'm rally addicted to it, more than I am to Blogspot. So, yeah, this is kind of a goodbye but not really... I just don't feel like blogging on Blogspot anymore. I think I just lost the knack for it.
Anyways, I just want to thank you all. You've all been amazing, really. I mean, YOU, my readers are the reason why I blog on here in the first place. I follow some of you on Tumblr already, but if I don't, PLEASE stop by my ask and say hi! So, I'll have your URL and I'll follow you. :)
It's http://irememberthestars.tumblr.com/
So, yeah drop by and say hi. :) I'm really going to miss you all. And I'm going to miss this blog, because it's been something I've really enjoyed.
Anywaysssss... thanks again, to all of you. I love you guys! xoxo

PS: Really though, if you have a Tumblr, come say hi!
PPS: If I blog again, I'll just be blogging from time to time. So, I'm not going to delete this blog. It'll remain up, I'm just not going to really be blogging.
PPPS: Bye, all! <3 Hugs and kisses 5ever!
PPPPS: See what I did there? 5ever? :D

7 Temmuz 2012 Cumartesi

Announcing the Hulu Award for "Best Comedy TV Show"

To contact us Click HERE
(Please welcome guest presenter Toni Rankin, whose many accomplishments include three blogs: Fanatic Space, Watching Sitcoms, and Watching CW )


And the Hulie goes to....




Arrested Development!








It is interesting to me that although Arrested Development was up against many other really great shows, some that are more current or that were on the air much longer, the little underdog beat out all the competition for Best Comedy TV Show. I'd have to say it was because of the great ensemble cast, who worked so well together and pulled off three great seasons of television that I want to watch again and again. I'm not even sure I could pick out a favorite episode, if I had to.

Trying to find one clip for this show was really hard. Not because there were no good clips, but because there were far too many. In the end I went for one that definitely shows off the zany and somewhat uncomfortable humor of the show, as well as the acting chops of Jason Bateman and co-star David Cross.

Hopefully, talks of a movie in the works will come to fruition soon.

Nearly 20,000 audience votes were registered, and even though the fan favorite was Buffy the Vampire Slayer (which got my vote, too), the judging panel's votes outweighed the audience, pushing Arrested Development to victory.

The other nominees in this category, that moved their way up through the voting process to be the best of the best were "30 Rock," "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," "The Office," "Saturday Night Live," and "The Simpsons"

Rise of the Planet of the Apes: Movie Review

To contact us Click HERE

I remember, when I was 6 years old I went to the theatre by home to see the new planet of The Apes movie. Never seeing any of the old ones I was still excited. I probably didn't quite understand but I do rather enjoy it now! So when I heard there was a new one coming out with James Franco (127 hours) I was thrilled!Anyway, what I'm saying is that Rise of the Planet of the Apes was very well done. I my expectations were for it to be good but not very good. The movie rises and, at times, even soars....For more deatils click the Drama tab.

Moulin Rouge Film Review

To contact us Click HERE


Moulin Rouge Film Review

Music,sex, love and alcohol have been the root of great entertainment sincethe beginning of film. Nowadays to watch a movie and to be completelysatisfied is rare. Making films that are flawless is challenging,but not for pop-music-obsessed director Baz Luhrmann. As nosurprise MoulinRougeisLuhrmann's finest movie. He has blended history with songs from, thelate 20thcentury. Again dealing with the fate of two lovers, the film usesoutstanding production values and musical numbers to bring about anamazing overall movie, blowing the musical genre out of thewater! MoulinRougefollowsthe story of Christian (Ewan McGregor) who leaves London,Englandduring the French Revolution,in the 1900's, to live among thebohemian Underworld where he meets alcohol addicted Henri (JohnLeguizemo), who gives him to the answers to the mysteries in hishead: love and alcohol. Henri teaches Christian that "love is amany splendid thing, all you need is love". He takes him to adecadent dance hall, called the Moulin Rouge, where Christian ismistaken for a Duke (Richard Roxburgh) by Satine (Nicole Kidman). Hefalls for her beauty and talent and is determined to be with her nomatter what. Even "though nothing will keep us together"sang by Satine, Christian is willing to do anything to be with her,even though the Duke desires her. On top of everything else music isthe heart of the show, with hit songs from Madonna ("Like avirgin") and many others.
MoulinRougeisone of the most visually stunning films made in the past decade, duelargely to its bizarre style, costumes, and set. The very detailedsets and costumes and the visuals add to the wonder created by thedesign of the film. All the colours and deep shadows are renderedperfectly, with everything razor sharp and clear. It mostlycontains fast pans, establishing shots, zoom two shots and thecutting rates are very short to keep the audience enticed in theshow. Itisan older film and crowded in a genre with great musicals like Grease. Tthe credit goes to the two leads - Satine and Christian, who make the story convincing..Kidman and McGregor have that rare thing, real chemistry, and eachgives a moving performance. This film stands out for adults ages18-55.The audience who loves music and outrageous scenes like NicoleKidman's orgasm scene rolling around the floor to Ewan's version of"your song". It is funny because he wants to act and talkabout poetry, while she wants to have sex with him so she becomean actress. So she starts rolling in the sheets and crawling andyelling sounding pleased. It is over the top and hurts tolaugh.
Overall, gluing it all together are the songs, becausethey bring charm and character to the film. What could have gone sowrong in fact turns out to be Luhrmann's true triumph - thankfullyEwan and Nicole CAN sing.
MoulinRougeisa breathtaking film that marries the best of theatre, opera andcinematic techniques. The film is truly “Spectacular, Spectacular”.

Steve Wilkos. Why I love this man:

To contact us Click HERE
This is what I like to call Steve's "Thinking" Face
If you're like me, and daytime tv is all you have while your 3 kids with 4 different women are at school, you have before seen The Steve Wilkos show. Let me tell you something, Steve Wilkos himself, is what Jesus would be like if he was bald, middle aged, and liked to yell (in the best possible way). The main point of Steve's show is to address problems that are plaguing modern society today, such as lack of child support, domestic abuse, and of course, the problem I'm sure we are all facing today, husbands cheating with hookers in downtown New York. Steve conducts his show in the same general format everyday:
1) The first guest, usually the one who called the show, is on stage for the first interview
2) Steve yells, and doesn't fix anything
3) The problem person is brought out
4) The problem person's drug dealer is called out
5) The incredibly accurate and necessary "lie detector test" results are read
6) Steve finally leaves the stage, and the captive audience is set free to return to their many third world home countries.
From what I've seen, The Steve Wilkos show is great if you love watching people with no money fight it out on television! Who knows, maybe one day the majority of the population can realize how helpful Steve Wilkos is, and write letters to him like Santa! I'll start:
Dear Steve:
... Get the hell off my tv!
Sincerely,
Most species with conscious thought, capable of simple decisions!


Here we see always talented Steve Wilkos, displaying his impression of an Alpaca.




... In case you can't tell, I'm being incredibly sarcastic, I love you Steve Wilkos! Don't you change a thing!




Philosophy

To contact us Click HERE
Are all humans just in existence to participate in the life of another? Or are all others in existence to participate in your own life, and you just don't know it? Welcome to mindfuck 101, bitches, a new segment on my blog where I talk about the questions I wonder in a day, such as are there more colours than what we can see? If so, what could be be called, or what would they look like? It's impossible to imagine what a colour you cannot see would look like, just try it now: Go on, prove me wrong. You can't, can you? That also brings the question, if we cannot understand what we cannot see, than how do we learn though the teaching of the events in the lives of others? They both follow the same premise, but with drastic differences. For one, learning is possible to do, and two, most things you will learn in your life are based on the experience or story of another person. If we can learn like this, why can we not learn certain things? In my opinion, the human mind has purposely blocked out these paths of learning for the reason of it rendering us incapable of not understanding. A double negative, meaning all people must be able to not understand in order to understand. Creepy, eh? Let's dig a little deeper into this psychological idea:
Imagine a man. His name is Bob. Bob has a wife, 2 children, a successful job, and a dog. Bob is your Average Joe, or "Average Bob". Bob woke up one day and became the person mentioned above, with the correct channels, or paths in the brain open completely to all understanding. Bob wouldn't know how to function. Think about this: How much learning do you do every day of your life? Every action has an equal and opposite reaction, and for experiencing those ourselves, we are learning in a way that is not possible from just hearing the tales of a teacher or professor. If Bob already understands, and can no longer learn, he will have no possible comprehension of how to react in a scenario that requires learning.
You may be saying to yourself "Hey blogger, what the hell? If he already understands, why does learning matter?"
You're absolutely right, that in theory, learning doesn't matter. But you are also wrong. If you cannot learn, because you already know, than you cannot function. Humans maneuver naturally, out of instinct to learn in order to benefit themselves as individuals. If Bob already knows everything, he would have no purpose to move, go out, or live his life, and therefore, not be able to physically do anything. If a human cannot learn, than we mentally have no purpose, and would not be able to function.
This brings us back to the main topic of trying to see a colour you have never seen before: It cannot, will not, and should not ever be able to happen. The brain is purposely closed in order to deal prompt humans to go out, learn, and with that understand what you learn. We are limited for a reason, and in my opinion, this is the reason.

5 Temmuz 2012 Perşembe

Announcing the Hulu Award for "Best Unscripted Television Show"

To contact us Click HERE
And the Hulie goes to....



Kitchen Nightmares!







Kitchen Nightmares becomes the second piece of content to garner multiple Hulu Awards, coming off of a big win in the "Best Competitive Reality Show" category. In order to win this highest aggregate award, KN had to steamroll the biggest and best names in the reality show business.

Here's what we had to say when Gordon Ramsay cursed his way to the top of the competition:

The celebrity in question is bad boy chef Gordon Ramsay, a man whose constant stream of furious expletives has turned him into the unlikely face of British fine cuisine. American viewers may not be aware that Ramsay's hit "Kitchen Nightmares" is a British export that has been given a slight makeover for US viewers.

The formula is as predictable as a sunset, yet compelling in its details. A local restaurant is on the brink of financial ruin. Desperate to keep the doors open, they ask Ramsay for help. He comes in, tastes the food, and pronounces it inedible. He spends the next couple of days exposing any dirt he can, with the focus on filthy kitchens and unhelpful personalities. Typically, he identifies a scapegoat, whether that's the owner or a manager. He berates the owner on everything he can until the owner breaks and agrees that major changes are needed. Then Ramsay retools the menu, gussies up the dining room, and hosts an event that fills the restaurant to the brim with paying customers. Afterward, Ramsay pronounces the restaurant cured of its ills, and rides off into the sunset.

The success of the show is based on Ramsay's proven entertainment factor, as well as the innate interest we have in seeing behind the scenes of the local restaurants that serve us our food.

Fans will be excited to hear that Fox has announced a third season for this fall.

There's also a lot of buzz on the web regarding the actual fortunes of the restaurants featured on the program. How many failing restaurants are actually given a new lease on life by Ramsay's one-week visit? According to Wikipedia, 10 of the 21 featured restaurants have been closed down, with two others changing ownership since they were made over by Ramsay.

By one measure, this is a pretty dismal score. About half of the restaurants are gone, despite Ramsay's much-ballyhooed best effort. On the other hand, half of the businesses have actually been saved by a simple makeover. It's a glass half empty/glass half full kind of thing. I think the show would be better served by being a little more honest about the rickety ground that some restaurants have been left on at the end of the week.

Still, there's another measure of success for the show. In a Hulu-landscape chock-full of crappy reality shows fueled by crappy reality stars, one man stands head and shoulders above the rest. Congratulations to Gordon Ramsay and the other minds behind Kitchen Nightmares!



After 20,000 votes, the Audience Favorite is "Top Chef"

The other worthy nominees were "Biggest Loser", "Project Runway", and "30 Days."

Announcing the Hulu Award for "Best Movie"

To contact us Click HERE
(Please welcome guest presenter Tamara Brooks, a regular contributor to the excellent site Zap2It)

And the Hulie goes to....



Ghostbusters!










Here's a word of thanks from the Ghostbusters peeps themselves (aka the producers):


Upon hearing of its recent Hulu "award," the group denounced the hoax, seeing through the ruse to lure the group into an alternate paranormal universe. After learning that Hulu is not one of Zuul's demon henchmen, but in fact a well-respected, totally non-evil video site, the Ghostbusters would like to retract its initial rejection of the award and express their gratitude for such an honor. To celebrate, the group will release Ghostbusters on Blu-ray High Definition, June 16, 2009.


People just can't resist the glory of Peter, Ray, Egon, and Winston. Infinitley quotable, funny, smartly written, well-acted, and awesomely directed, years and dozens of viewings later it's still one of my favorite movies of all time. And clearly I'm not the only one who feels this way.


After 20,000 votes, the Audience Favorite is also "Ghostbusters"

Announcing the Hulu Award for "Best Web Original"

To contact us Click HERE
(Please welcome guest presenter Toni Rankin, whose many accomplishments include three blogs: Fanatic Space, Watching Sitcoms, and Watching CW )




And the Hulie goes to....




Dr. Horrible's Sing-Along Blog!




Here's what the show had to say about their boffo win:

Dear Hulu Awards,

Thank you very much for awarding us (Dr. Horrible) the Best Web Original Award. We are a web original so it was absolutely the correct category to put us in. To be serious for a brief moment, we are flattered. It is a joy to work in this vibrant, new medium and we couldn't have done it without the support of the fans.

[some portions deleted as they would spoil the announcement of another award(s). Please keep your eye out for the message in its entirety.]

Thank you very, very much,
The Doctors Horrible


I'm not trying to drop any names, but, at least on twitter, the Doctors Horrible are Jed Whedon and Maurissa Tancharoen Whedon (writers, actors, singers, and all around fun guys) and we're honored that they chose to send us an acknowledgement of the award. Thank you, Team Whedon, keep up the good work and send us more Dr. Horrible.

The other nominees for the final vote were:

National Geographic Animals

National Geographic Environment

National Geographic Travel

Spacerip

OK, let's be honest. When you look at the rest of the nominees, it's no wonder that Dr. Horrible swept the category (it was also the audience vote favorite, netting a Awards-Season-best 99% of the vote). I could not remember what other shows were in this category originally, so I looked it up. Here's a link to the entire category on Hulu: http://www.hulu.com/channels/Web

I would have thought that at least some of those had to be more interesting than National Geographic specials. But if not, it just proves that one thing we need way more of in this world (and on the web, of course) is Dr. Horrible's Sing-Along Blog.

Although I love the entire thing, I think probably my favorite part is watching Dr. Horrible (Neil Patrick Harris) singing "Brand New Day" (clip above). Just the way that slow smile builds on his face and we get to watch his mouth move along rapidly. Then he does that thing with his fingers . . . .you have to see it to get what I'm saying, but as Felicia Day sings in Commentary! The Musical (by the way, if you don't have the DVD for Dr. Horrible yet, Commentary! alone is worth the price), "that intro's unreal."

I'm ready for the next chapter anytime, guys.

Announcing the Hulu Award for "Best Scifi/Fantasy TV Series"

To contact us Click HERE
(Please welcome guest presenter Toni Rankin, whose many accomplishments include three blogs: Fanatic Space, Watching Sitcoms, and Watching CW )

And the Hulie goes to....



BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER!








To accept this award for Buffy the Vampire Slayer, we had the Drs. Horrible, of Dr. Horrible's Sing-Along Blog, who had this to say about both wins:



Dear Hulu Awards,


Thank you very much for awarding us (Dr. Horrible) the Best Web Original Award. We are a web original so it was absolutely the correct category to put us in. To be serious for a brief moment, we are flattered. It is a joy to work in this vibrant, new medium and we couldn't have done it without the support of the fans.


I would also like to take the moment to thank you for choosing Buffy as the Best SciFi/Fantasy Show Award. Buffy deserves many awards in our book and it's nice to see it still getting people's attention all these years later.


Thank you very, very much,
The Doctors Horrible

(It may have already been mentioned, but, at least on twitter, the Doctors Horrible are Jed Whedon and Maurissa Tancharoen Whedon and we're honored that they chose to send us an acknowledgment of our awards.)





Now there was never doubt in my mind that BtVS is, was and always will be the best ever SciFi/Fantasy ever. Ad infinitem. Forever and ever and ever. Amen. That comes as no surprise to any one who has ever read any of my blogs, however, since I generally try to work some mention of BtVS and/or Joss Whedon into pretty much anything I write.



Because BtVS is my fave show ever, it did make it very difficult to choose a clip. Honestly, when I started to think about what episode, what moment really defined the seven seasons of Buffy, I just had no idea where to start. After wandering aimlessly around Hulu for some time, watching and choosing clip after clip, I realized I had to just pick something, one thing. So the clip I chose may not be what anyone else would choose, especially since the first season was so very long ago and the clip is from the second ep ("The Harvest," the second half of "Welcome to the Hellmouth"). If you watch the clip, you'll see a short bit of interaction between the the four main characters, Buffy, Willow, Xander and Giles, which occurs right after the first time they come together to defeat evil. There were similar scenes throughout the series and I just feel like it really sums up what the show was all about. Friends using good to overcome evil and save the world . . . a lot.







The other nominees in this category were: Angel, Battlestar Galactica, Firefly and Fringe. When three out of five nominees are from the same guy, you have to know his stuff is good. Based solely on the audience votes, their favorite was Firefly, which is, as noted another awesome Whedon series. So it was all win-win.

Announcing the Hulu Award for "Best Television Show"

To contact us Click HERE
(Please welcome guest presenter Toni Rankin, whose many accomplishments include three blogs: Fanatic Space, Watching Sitcoms, and Watching CW )

And the Hulie goes to....



Arrested Development!









It is interesting to me that although Arrested Development was up against many other really great shows, some that are more current or that were on the air much longer, the little underdog beat out all the competition for Best Comedy TV Show. I'd have to say it was because of the great ensemble cast, who worked so well together and pulled off three great seasons of television that I want to watch again and again. I'm not even sure I could pick out a favorite episode, if I had to.

Trying to find one clip for this show was really hard. Not because there were no good clips, but because there were far too many. In the end I went for one that definitely shows off the zany and somewhat uncomfortable humor of the show, as well as the acting chops of Jason Bateman and co-star David Cross.

Hopefully, talks of a movie in the works will come to fruition soon.

After 20,000 votes, the Audience Favorite is also "Arrested Development."

The other worthy nominees were "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," "Chuck," "Alfred Hitchcock Presents," "Battlestar Galactica," and "Friday Night Lights."